Ofcom awards six new community radio licences in Scotland

Posted on 18/01/2013


January 17, 2013

Ofcom has today announced the award of six new community radio licences for services in Scotland.

Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular geographical community or a community of interest.

The awards are to:

  • K-Town FM, Kinglassie and surrounding area, Fife
  • KYFM, Kirkcaldy, Fife
  • Nevis Radio, Fort William and surrounding area, Scottish Highlands
  • Irvine Beat FM, parts of Irvine, North Ayrshire
  • Keith Community Radio, Moray
  • Deveron FM, Banff and Macduff, Aberdeenshire

Details of these new community radio services are as follows:

K-Town FM

Contact:  Allan Taaffe
Address: The Old Library Building, 34a Main Street, Kinglassie, Fife KY5 0XA
Email:  ktownfm@madasafish.com
Phone Number:  01592 882120
Website:  http://ktownfm.digitalfife.com

K-Town FM will provide a community radio service catering for the people of the former mining communities of Kinglassie and surrounding towns and villages.


Contact:  John Murray
Address:  20 Windmill Road, Kirkcaldy KY1 3AQ
Email:  cronulla20@aol.com
Phone Number:  01592 655309
Website: www.kyfm.co.uk

KYFM will serve the town of Kirkcaldy and surrounding areas in Fife.

Nevis Radio

Contact:  David Ogg
Address: The Studio, Ben Nevis Estate, Fort William PH33 6PR
Email:  david@nevisradio.co.uk
Phone Number:  01397 700007 or 07825 176546
Website: www.nevisradio.co.uk

This community radio service will provide an all-inclusive service to people living in or visiting Lochaber in the Scottish Highlands. As a result of being awarded this new licence, Nevis Radio will be required to surrender its existing commercial radio licence.

Irvine Beat FM

Contact:  Ronnie McGhie
Address: 27 Hazeldene Park, Kilwinning KA13 7HX
Email: mcghie791@aol.com
Phone Number:  01294 553810 or 07596 982749
Website: www.irvinebeatfm.com

Irvine Beat FM will serve people in the Fullarton, Harbourside, Redburn, Vineburgh and Castlepark areas of Irvine.  The station output will have a particular emphasis placed on the  improving the health and general well-being of the residents.

Keith Community Radio

Contact:  John Seivwright
Address:  Seafield Studios, 59a Land Street, Keith, Moray AB55 5AN
Email: manager@kcr.fm
Phone Number:  01542 887548
Website: www.kcr.fm

Keith Community Radio will provide a service for people who live in Moray.

Deveron FM

Contact:  Lynn Rae
Address: Unit 3a, 83 North Castle Street, Banff, Aberdeenshire AB45 1JJ
Email:  lynn@deveronfm.co.uk
Phone Number:  01261 812000 or 07988 975615
Website: www.deveronfm.co.uk

Deveron FM will broadcast a community radio service for the population of Banff, Macduff and surrounding areas.

Licences are awarded for a five-year period.

A statement setting out the main determining factors for the award of the community radio licences referred to above will be published on our website in due course.

Ofcom recently announced that over 200 community radio stations are now on air.



  1. In addition to the licence awards detailed above, Ofcom considered one further application, but decided not to award a licence to the following group:
    • Generate Radio, the county of Berwickshire.
Posted in: Democracy